Duncan Moron

Your Link to Artistic Talent

Yelling at your Kids

mom_yelling_at_daughterDoes anyone have a teenager?  I am just asking because of the sheer insanity of the entire scenario.  If you don’t have a teenager I don’t expect you to understand.  Teenagers are not really humans.  They are not boys or girls or men or women but they are something else entirely.  A different species or race that is in existence for only a short time frame until they morph into what they will become as they shape their lives.  They are a vessel of hormones that are out of control like the supercollider that hurtles matter at supersonic speed while periodically you get to witness the collision.

Admittedly I don’t always handle all situations with my teenager by the best practices set forth for dealing with the criminally jumbled bottles of shaken carbonated drink replicas.  Once the fizzle starts exploding and reason is thrown out the window I at times react negatively fanning the flame which ultimately leads to combustion.  I am not without fault for the record.  I make mistakes and in dealing with three daughters I sometimes feel a little out of my element.

Drama clubs could only hope to have the passionate displays that I sometimes get to witness on a daily basis.  Recently in an uproar with my 15 year old I used some inappropriate words in the heat of the moment and while I regret my reaction I still admittedly don’t understand the logic.  Why can’t they get the importance of school?  How can they choose not to learn when learning is their only job?  Is school really something to rebel against or at some point do they embrace the opportunities and enjoy childhood while gaining the benefit of gathering knowledge.

As my daughter and I stood outside her school hurling hateful words back and forth at the top of our lungs we made no progress towards reaching a mutually agreeable understanding.  The battle of expletives exploded as I flung dirt at her and she in turn hit me below the belt.  It was a battle of wills and while I agree that there must be a more positive way to get your opinion across to your daughter at times we all lose control.

I almost want to give up as the seemingly never ending altercations happen but I still have hope that we are making progress.  I see a glimmer of light in her as she gains the sparkle back in her eye and attempts to focus as we come back home to her latest World History test.  She is so smart.  It is amazing how creative and ingenious she approaches some things.  I guess that is why it hurts so bad to see her fail.  If she put forth any effort at all her brilliant mind would take over and she would fly beyond average into the elite crowd of the nerdy echelon.

I only hope for the best were she is concerned.  I wish her luck and explain in the end it is her grades and pass or fail I can no longer force her to do my bidding.  All we can do is guide them the best we can and cross our fingers.  Life throws so many curveballs.  I hope I have the patience and understanding to hold back and wait for the swing as I am sure at some point she will find her stride and connect for the home run that is buried deep inside.

June 24, 2009 - Posted by | Children, Family, Personal | , , , , ,

1 Comment »

  1. I think you have the right conclusion (encourage and wait). Don’t forget to remind her why/how school is fun, rather than simply tell her that it is. You have the choice to be smart or dumb, why not choose smart? Maybe the grades = college = riches argument might work. When parents tell their kids to study, they often neglect to teach them how to study or teach them how to view studying is interesting and fun. Repeated messages sometimes work…even if just a little. Your (repeated) messages get in their head, which they hear more often than you realize (then choose to act or not act on it). But my kids are under 2, what the hell do I know?

    Comment by Mike Weber | June 26, 2009 | Reply


Leave a comment